Posted on

is cbd oil legal in louisiana

CBD oil has a health supplement is gaining a lot of traction in the United States. As it continues to become more popular, more people are wondering how to get their hands on some for themselves.

Note: marijuana is illegal on a federal level, and as a result, it’s not covered by any Louisiana health insurance plans. Bring enough cash to pay for your medicine!

Table of Contents

Don’t let that scare you away from CBD oil. There are a few precautions you can take to protect yourself from these low-quality CBD oils.

Patients in Louisiana don’t need to get onto a medical marijuana registry. Instead, they must visit one of Louisiana’s medical marijuana certified doctors and receive a recommendation.

Despite Louisiana’s harsh laws, it was one of the first states to attempt a medical marijuana program.

Baton Rouge — With the passage of House Bill 491, the Louisiana Legislature legalized the sale of hemp and hemp-derived cannabidiol products, more commonly called CBD.

Products sold at the retail level must obtain a permit prior to sale from the Louisiana Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control.

Governor John Bel Edwards signed the legislation into law on June 6. The bill only authorizes the sale of hemp-derived CBD products with a THC concentration of less than 0.3%. Hemp and CBD are still banned from being used in food and drinks.

According to officials with the Department’s Office of Public Health, CBD products manufactured, distributed, imported or sold for use in the state of Louisiana are required to be produced from hemp grown in accordance with standards set by the U.S. Department of Agriculture. CBD products must be labeled in accordance with Louisiana’s Food, Drug and Cosmetic Law.

With the legalization of CBD, the Louisiana Department of Health will take an active role in the regulation of the product. On Tuesday, the Department has the responsibility of permitting manufacturers and registering labels for wholesale food and drug products.

So, is CBD legal in Louisiana? The Controlled Substances Act in 1970 affected The Pelican State (and every state). This act criminalized the possession and distribution of several narcotics in the United States, including marijuana. Because federal laws trump state laws, Louisiana had no choice but to enforce this law and create legislation in accordance with this act. Until now, Louisiana has had one of the strictest and harshest punishments for the possession of marijuana in the United States. Eight years after the Controlled Substances Act was passed, Louisiana Governor Edwin Edwards signed a law allowing minimal medical marijuana in the state.

While the state has taken slow steps in completely legalizing the use of medical marijuana, the development of decriminalization and even the legalization of recreational marijuana in Louisiana has been even slower. Louisiana had one of the strictest and harshest recreational marijuana restrictions in the United States. Possessing around or less than 14 grams of recreational marijuana in the state could mean staying in prison for 15 days and/or paying a $300 fine.

Second Medical Law Passed

Finally, in June 2019, Louisiana Governor Bel Edwards signed House Bill 491 into law. This allowed the production, distribution, and sale of hemp-derived CBD products, such as pills, oils, and even injections. Products must have less than 0.3% of tetrahydrocannabinol or THC. As most people know, this is the compound responsible for the “high” feeling that most people associate with using marijuana. This mirrored the passage of the Agricultural Improvement Act in 2018. It created the framework for growing hemp and producing products derived from the plant, such as CBD oil.

Nevertheless, major cities in Louisiana such as New Orleans and Baton Rouge recently made a move to decriminalize the use of recreational marijuana in their borders. Furthermore, Senate Bill 143 specified the fines and/or jail time for possessing marijuana. Now, people caught with marijuana for the first time will pay a $300 fine and/or stay in prison for 15 days. If that person is caught again two or more times, the punishment is greater.

By now you might think it impossible that legislators made CBD legal in Louisiana. The answer is both a yes and a no. While some CBD products are legal in Louisiana, there are still challenges in regulating these products. Many people in the state use CBD products to help with various ailments, such as postpartum depression, Alzheimer’s disease, and even meth addiction. Still, The Pelican State has been harsh on all things cannabis.