If you keep this guide in mind when placing an order for CBD, you should be able to avoid many of the fake and low-quality products available online and in-store.
With that being said, you should still be able to find a selection of CBD products over the counter in West Virginia. We have included a short list below of good places to try.
4. Remember that CO2 Extraction Is the Best Method for Producing High-quality CBD
Although the marijuana laws in West Virginia are strict, the Mountain State is making progress. Keep an eye out for medical marijuana dispensaries opening near you in 2020.
The state was supposed to start the distribution of medical marijuana cards after July 1, 2019. However, that didn’t happen and patients are still waiting.
Recreational marijuana doesn’t seem to be on the cards for West Virginia just yet; this is typical of southern states in general. Currently, only two (West Virginia and Florida) have legalized medical marijuana, and none have legalized recreational weed.
Once you enter one of them, feel free to ask the staff about the products you seek. Best CBD oil shops in West Virginia employ well-informed people who are passionate about hemp, so even if you’re new to the market, they will be happy to assist you.
And last but not least – always ask for third-party lab testing reports. Companies often show these reports in a separate section on their websites, but sometimes, you will have to ask for them via e-mail. If your potential CBD supplier doesn’t show such results online, but you still think it can be trusted, give them a call or write a message – if they can be trusted, you will get what you’re asking for.
Is CBD Oil Legal in West Virginia?
Marijuana contains significant amounts of THC; as such, it falls under different regulations than hemp.
Like we said, buying CBD oil in West Virginia is fairly easy. The state houses numerous vape shops, wellness centers, and brick-and-mortar stores where you can find a wide range of CBD-infused goods.
Further, mind the extraction method. The majority of top-notch CBD suppliers make their extracts using CO2 extraction, which is the safest and most effective method of drawing cannabinoids from hemp.
Let’s take a closer look at what West Virginia’s law has to say about both plants.
CBD products don’t have side effects similar to many prescription compounds on the market today. CBD is a 100% natural compound that helps manages many different conditions without notable side effects. That’s why high-quality CBD products are all the rage right now.
West Virginia began a licensing program to regulate the cultivation, possession, and transportation of marijuana-derived CBD products. You can purchase the product from licensed dispensaries across the state. Marijuana-derived CBD is available only for medical patients who have a valid prescription from a doctor. On the other hand, hemp-derived CBD is freely available across the state and doesn’t need a license or prescription to purchase. You will find hemp-derived CBD in most of the retail shops in the state.
On the other hand, the sale and distribution of any amount of marijuana is a felony in West Virginia. The punishment includes a jail term between 1 to 5 years and a $15,000 fine. Transporting the substance is also a crime and is punishable.
What Is CBD?
The best place to buy CBD products in West Virginia is online. Online retailers offer a wide selection of products to choose from. If you buy the product from a local retailer, the selection of products is significantly limited to the ones the shop is able to source locally. But there are some products that are of the highest quality but not yet widely available in West Virginia’s CBD stores. You might just miss the chance to get them if you don’t shop for CBD products online.
The difference between marijuana-derived CBD and hemp-derived CBD is the THC content in the product. Marijuana-derived CBD has more than 0.3% THC and is illegal other than for medical purposes. One needs a license and a prescription from a doctor to buy this product. Hemp-derived CBD has less than 0.3% THC and doesn’t make a person high. Hence, the product is freely available in the state and doesn’t require a license or prescription.
There is no possession limit for hemp-derived CBD products in West Virginia. On the other hand, Marijuana-derived products do have a possession limit. No ordinary person can purchase marijuana-derived products without medical approval. A qualified patient can only purchase a 30-day supply of marijuana-derived CBD in the form of oils, tinctures, topicals, nebulizers, and vapors. They cannot purchase dry leaf plants. Possessing marijuana-derived products without a valid license is a crime in West Virginia. The possession of marijuana-based products in any amount without a license is considered a misdemeanor in the state and is punishable by jail time of not less than 90 days, nor more than six months, and fined $1,000.
A licensing program regulates hemp cultivation in the state. HB 2694 includes all the licensing guidelines. Here are some points that you need to know: