Posted on

cbd oil legal in missouri

Thanks to a farm bill passed in 2018 by Congress , hemp products were carved apart from regular marijuana, which meant that CBD products with less than 0.3% THC are no longer considered a controlled substance. A similar law was passed in 2018 that exempted industrial hemp from Missouri’s definition of marijuana.

Experts recommend that sellers be very cautious about their CBD products. The lack of clarity in the laws and the unwillingness of federal authorities to regulate the industry, combined with CBD’s rising popularity, has created a free-for-all in the market. There are a lot of unscrupulous suppliers out there who aren’t really invested in quality control of their products. A product on your store’s shelves could be labeled in a way that violates federal law (by saying that it can treat a medical condition) or it could contain more than 0.3% THC. (When researchers tested CBD products sold online, 43% of samples had more THC than it stated on their labels.)

Cannabidiol (CBD) products are often thought of as marijuana’s “kinder, gentler” cousins. Lacking the psychoactive high that comes along with the tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) found in marijuana, CBD products won’t get you high — but they are being used to treat everything from epilepsy to chronic pain.

While CBD products have cropped up everywhere, it’s still against federal law to put CBD in food. It’s also illegal to claim that CBD products have health benefits of any kind — despite all of the evidence otherwise. Plus, the state’s laws only exempt industrial hemp products from its list of controlled substances — and CBD can be sourced from either hemp or marijuana.

So what’s the problem? Sellers of CBD products can still end up being charged with drug distribution and other criminal offenses simply because of a lack of clarity in the law.

Yes, it was admitted to the Union in 1821 under the Missouri Compromise. Cannabis, however, is only legal for registered patients with certain qualifying conditions.

Also in 2014, SB 491 made the possession of 10 grams or less of marijuana a misdemeanor punishable by a fine for first-time offenders. Possession of greater quantities is considered a felony.

While we can’t predict the future, we know that Missouri citizens can petition to have a vote on legalization added to the ballot. Like in most states, 2020 efforts to add a measure legalizing marijuana to the ballot in Missouri were derailed by the Covid-19 pandemic. Interested parties are eyeing 2022.

Which medical marijuana bill passed in Missouri?

The Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services (DHSS) administers medical marijuana regulations and processes online applications for patients and caregivers. The state’s 4% tax on retail marijuana sales is dedicated to the Missouri Veteran’s Health and Care Fund.

The Missouri Legislature in 2014 passed HB 2238, which created the Missouri Hemp Extract Registration Program (MHERP). It allowed Missouri residents diagnosed with intractable epilepsy to legally purchase, possess, and use hemp extract with no more than 0.3% tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) by weight and at least 5% cannabidiol (CBD) by weight as long as it contains no intoxicating substances.

For non-patients, possession of 10 grams or less of marijuana or synthetic marijuana is a misdemeanor punishable by a $500 fine.

Patients can purchase up to 4 ounces (113 grams) of dried, unprocessed marijuana or its equivalent in a 30-day period. A patient may be able to get approval for more if two independent physicians agree to a specific amount. According to state guidelines, 3.5 grams of unprocessed marijuana is the equivalent of 1 gram of concentrate or 100 milligrams of a THC-infused product.