If you’re not a permanent resident of the state, you shouldn’t possess more than 15 grams of marijuana.
You are legally allowed to purchase marijuana in the state of Illinois if you suffer from one of the following medical conditions:
Medical Marijuana in Illinois
If you’re interested in using medical marijuana in Illinois, you’ll have to fit a few criteria.
Before this law came into effect at the state level, the city of Chicago had introduced municipal legislation in 2012 that made possession of up to 15 grams of weed a civil infraction, resulting in a fine of $250 to $500.
Overall, Illinois has become a great place to be if you’re interested in the world of CBD.
In 2013, Illinois passed the Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Act, which made it legal for people suffering from certain severe medical conditions to purchase and consume marijuana.
While both the 2018 Farm Bill and the Industrial Hemp Act make the cultivation and sale of hemp-derived CBD legal, in order to legally cultivate hemp applicants must submit an application for each noncontiguous land area and each indoor cultivation operation area to the Illinois Department of Agriculture with:
Hemp is also subject to random testing to ensure that THC concentration does not exceed 0.3% by weight. Samples are collected by the Illinois Department of Agriculture and are tested directly by the department or sent to an approved third-party lab for testing. If THC levels are found to be between 0.3% and 0.7%, licensees have the opportunity to pay for a retest. Otherwise, the hemp must be destroyed.
Applications are processed within 30 days and, if approved, cultivation licenses are valid for up to three calendar years from the date of issuance. Current licensing fees are $1,000 for a three-year license; $700 for a two-year license; and $375 for a one-year license. Under current regulations, anyone with a prior felony related to controlled substances in the 10 years prior to their application date is ineligible for a hemp cultivation license. Failure to comply with licensing procedures may result in fines of up to $10,000 per violation.
While the federal legislation still highly regulates the production and sale of hemp and hemp-derived cannabinoids, including CBD, the Farm Bill also gives states the power to further regulate or even outright prohibit CBD cultivation and commerce. States also have the power to regulate the use of CBD in food, dietary supplements, beverages, and cosmetic products independently of the FDA finalizing its rules.
Hemp-derived CBD products — including CBD oil — are available in a variety of online or retail stores. It’s important to research CBD and purchase products from a reputable source since the manufacture and sale of CBD products remain largely unregulated.
The adopted rules also outline the legality of hemp-derived CBD products, including CBD oil. Under the temporary rules, the sale and transfer of all hemp and hemp-derived products that are in compliance with the state and federal definition is legal, both within and outside of Illinois.
It is legal to cultivate and sell hemp-derived CBD, including CBD oil, in Illinois, but there are no defined possession limits in place.